Let ’em talk

Lately whenever I hear someone talking about it, or me, it pisses me off. I care so much about what other people think and say about me that I forget to think about what I think of myself. The opinions of other people defined me. I believed what they were saying. Now, it doesn’t make me as mad as it did at first but it still stings. It might always will. But the thing is, you just have to “be a duck and let it roll of your back”. Ironically, the person that has hurt me the most, also gave me one of the best pieces of advice to get through this.  I think that is a silver lining.

If you follow me, you’re going to see that I firmly believe in silver linings. I think that everything bad that has happened to you, has happened FOR you.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

God has a greater plan than any of us could ever dream of. The life his has planned for us, is so much more than what you have dreamt your life could be. All you have to do is do his will.

Anyway, when this first happened, it turned my world upside down.People talked. People that I’d never met suddenly knew everything there was to know about it. People called me awful names, and all I could do was sit there. To hide behind a screen and simply take it. The story was one sided, and the most important side of it all, couldn’t talk about it. It hurt to much. It still hurts. It hurts everyday, but it also makes me grateful for the good days that I do have.  I though I had it all figured out. I was happy on the outside, but the inside showed a very different story. I hide from the truth so long that I began to believe my own lies. I began to believe to that everything that I showed on the outside was what was really underneath. That wasn’t the case.  No one really new the truth until I was brave enough to speak up. I remember it like it was yesterday. I said it. My gut told me not to, but I did it anyway. Those seven words that came out my mouth altered my life forever.

So people are going to talk. Just like they know the whole story. Let em. It’s not about what they call you, it’s what you answer to. So what if they talk? The only person that should you should EVER worry about what they think of you is God, and believe me when I say God is absolutely in love with you. Think about it, God spoke stars, and lakes, and birds, and fish, and trees, and moons, and suns, and everything around you into existence. You are the only thing he touched.  Do you know how powerful that makes you!? You should never ever feel down about what someone thinks or says about you. You need to seek the approval of God instead of the approval of others.

“Then the LORD God formed the man from the dust of the ground. He breathed the breath of life into the man’s nostrils, and the man became a living person” Genesis 2:7

Now, I know that’s easier said than done. It’s a struggle for me. The only thing that you can do is ignore it. I’ve heard it said that you have to be careful what you put into your head, because you can never get it out. So feel your head with the word of God, not the ignorant opinions of other people.

Leave a Reply

